Good at Goodbye

5 Oct

2120-energy-conservation-strategy-and-sustainability-visioning-1535

Almost exactly 3 years after I left Corpus Christi, I will be returning there to live. Yes, I don’t quite believe it myself. I’m pretty sure I said never more than once in reference to this possibility.

But here I am.

I originally moved to Corpus Christi in early 2001. I had been battling depression and left college to live with my mom and get help. I ended up getting my first real job there, graduating college there, and eventually meeting and marrying my now ex-husband there. It was our divorce that made me run as far away from Corpus Christi as I could back in 2011.

When I left Corpus Christi, I was someone I don’t recognize today. The first two years in Lubbock helped me get on my feet and pointed me in the right direction. The past year in Amarillo has led to the greatest personal growth in my life.

While I’ve loved Amarillo for its people and weather and natural beauty, I’ve hated my job. There’s nothing wrong with the company. I’ve worked hard and we have been successful. Recruiting is just not for me.

I’ve been praying for a way to shift to a less stressful career without losing the ability to provide for myself. I want energy and time to devote to the more important things in life.

He provides.

My former boss in Corpus Christi reached out to me last week and made me an offer I couldn’t refuse. It’s exactly what I was hoping for. But the job isn’t the only reason I’m going…

I will be close to my sisters. I will be able rejoin Twisted Sisters, the crochet business my sister and I started several years ago. I can get involved with GROW Local South Texas and the Downtown Farmer’s Market. I will be able to reconnect with old friends. These are all factors that helped me decide, but it wasn’t easy.

As many times as I’ve said it, I am still not good at goodbye. I’ve cried everyday since I made the decision. There are people here and in Lubbock that I don’t want to be that far from. I don’t want to leave my ward or my callings. I’m so sad about it. And I absolutely despise packing.

I have felt a little foolish for heading back to a place I lived just 3 years ago, but I’m coming back a much stronger person. I needed this time to find myself and progress. I needed to heal, and I did.  I needed to let go, and I did.

I’m looking forward to what the future holds!

One Response to “Good at Goodbye”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. There you are | brandidandy - September 2, 2015

    […] When I had a good opportunity to get out, I took it.  And when I told my mom that I was headed back to Corpus Christi, she annoyingly reminded me that “where you go, there you are.”  (you were right, OK […]

Leave a Reply

